posted in: Local news | 0

South African Rockers De Wallen is finally back on Valentine’s Day with their highly anticipated 3rd Album Street Fight Sonata

To say the album had a difficult birth would be an understatement, but through resilience and love for their music the band pushed through. In these troubling and difficult times the outfit return with their signature Rock-sound bigger, faster and louder!

Ladies & Gentlemen … De Wallen is back!  

In Late 2017 the band began working on the album and it was recorded and written in Pretoria (South Africa). All nine tracks were conceived and recorded in just under 14 days. Also performing on this album are Adriaan Jordaan (Drums Vocals Lyrics), Adriaan Louw (Bass), Jeandre Swanepoel (Vocals, Guitar and lyrics) and Pieter Bekker (Guitar).

The band continued playing shows in South Africa gearing up for an album launch tour that included a Nation-Wide South African leg and European Tour. It’s here where the band decided to postpone the album, as it was missing the “X-Factor”.

The European Tour went exceptionally well and the band returned home to re-access the album. But then, tragedy struck …

Member changes, lack of funds, work schedules and creative differences and A GLOBAL PANDEMIC plagued the band. It seemed like all hope was lost. Yet, somehow the dream stayed alive! Additional recordings done by Gerhard Grobbler and Benjamin Hound with performances by Basson Laubscher, Emile Maritz and Wouter Rynecke breathed new life into the album.

A new line up consisting of Pieter Bekker (Rhythm Guitar), Jeandre Swanepoel (Vocals), Adriaan Jordaan (Drums), Emile Martiz (Lead Guitar) & Rudolph Heinen (Bass) stand ready to rock your socks off.

These nine tracks represent 3-years of blood, sweat and tears. A diamond in the rough … a Street Fight Sonata!


1 Cheap Drugs (3:04) – ISRC USY282001312

2 Loveless (3:11) – ISRC USY282001313

3 Triggerd (3:21|) – ISRC USY282001314

4 Hush (4:21) – ISRC USY282001315

5 Angry Man (3:32) – ISRC USY282001316

6 Questions (3:08) – ISRC USY282001317

7 Serendipity (3:34) – ISRC USY282001318

8 Damnation Drive (5:05) – ISRC USY282001319

9 Relapse (3:54) – ISRC USY282001320


Engineered, Mixed and Mastered by Jaco Naude of Audio Culture Records.
Additional Recordings by Gerhad Grobler and Benjamin Hound of Stereo Hills
Artwork Designed by Mieke Snyman

Band Photography by Dirk Odendaal


Basson Laubscher
Benjamin Hound


Pieter Bekker (Rhythm Guitar)

Jeandre Swanepoel (Vocals)

Adriaan Jordaan (Drums)

Emile Martiz (Lead Guitar)

Rudolph Heinen (Bass)


LinkTree: https://linktr.ee/dewallen

Web: http://dewallenband.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DeWallenBand
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dewallenband/
Web: http://dewallenband.com/
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/3n6PF2KnptY1WuDGFguiXF

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/za/artist/de-wallen/730061531

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8aATVncStmTnPB3NOY-AOg